Exceptional educators

Fostering new ways of teaching and learning

As a Catholic learning community, Santa Sophia is founded on the the best of what we know about contemporary learning and the experience of our exceptional educators.

Our teachers are passionate and creative, inspiring a love of learning in students every day.

They foster exploration and innovation, drawing on students’ passions, talents and learning styles to create an education that cultivates the whole child -- academically, socially, and emotionally.

The Santa Sophia educator:

  • listens to and appreciates each student as an individual
  • guides the development of social-emotional skills through class activities, individual goal setting, and 1:1 coaching
  • plans and assess a well-rounded education using academic milestones
  • creates hands-on learning experiences through projects and community experiences
  • partners with parents to best support their children
  • uses technology to enhance in-person learning, not replace it

Our educators are empowered through:

  • technology and a support team that enables them to spend more time with each student and less time on clerical tasks
  • flexibility to create meaningful experiences for their students
  • mentors and educational leaders who draw on the latest research in learning to guide professional development
  • a rich and varied network from which to draw experiences and share best practices
  • 1:1 partnerships with business and the community to develop educational tools




Our School Team

Our inspiring teachers allow students to thrive in their learning adventure to become adaptable, confident and conscientious young adults who will contribute positively to a rapidly changing world as globally responsible citizens... it’s The Santa Sophia Way.







Meet the College Executive Team


Mark De Vries

Mr Mark De Vries

College Principal




Mrs Rachel Vecchio-Ruggeri

Acting Assistant Principal
School of Curiosity (K-4)


 Miss Allison Gardiner

Assistant Principal
School of Connect (5-8)

Jeffrey Phillips

Mr Jeffrey Phillips

Assistant Principal
School of Challenge (9-12)



Mr Chris Maguire

Leader of Innovation and Digital Learning

Christopher Hayman

Mr Christopher Hayman

Leader of Formation and Mission

Kelly Pickett

Mrs Kelly Pickett

Leader of Enterprise and Partnerships


Middle Leadership

Mrs Anoushka Houseman Wellbeing Leader
Mrs Melodie Coleman Diversity Leader (K-12)
Mrs Wilma Clenton Diversity Leader - School of Curiosity
Mrs Lorraine Maher  Diversity Leader - School of Connect
Miss Lynell Alimangohan Formation Leader - School of Curiosity
Mrs Ivy Torres Formation Leader - School of Connect
Mr Thanh Nguyen Formation Leader - School of Challenge
Mrs Angeli Kihi Instructional Coach (Secondary): Inquiry Learning/Literacy Leader
Mrs Chelsea Brogan Instructional Coach (Secondary): Learning
Mr Timothy Adams Instructional Coach (Secondary): Learning
Miss Ashleigh Tabone Literacy Leader - School of Curiosity
Mr Michael Knight Numeracy Leader (Secondary)
Mr Michael Faccin Sports Coordinator
Mr Tony Sweeney Assistant Sports Coordinator
Mr Phil Rooke Music Coordinator
Miss Cristina Rubbo e-Learning Leader
Mrs Maree Concato Leader of Student Leadership
Cassandra Powell Executive Officer


School of Curiosity

Mrs Georgia Usher Kindergarten Teacher
Miss Samantha Brimfield Kindergarten Teacher
Mrs Leanne Duval Kindergarten Teacher
Miss Charmaine Cobol Kindergarten Teacher
Miss Sharleen Espiritu Year 1 Teacher  
Miss Jessica Devita Year 1 Teacher  
Mrs Dominique Limguangco Year 1 Teacher  
Mr James Petrie Year 2 Teacher
Miss Ashleigh Tabone Year 2 Teacher
Mrs Sandra Russo Year 2 Teacher
Mrs Vanessa Lesar Year 2 Teacher
Mrs Elaine Lombardi Year 2 Teacher
Mrs Maria Finucane Year 3 Teacher
Patty Apokis Year 3 Teacher
Mrs Claire Joshua Year 3 Teacher
Miss Rebecca Jones Year 3 Teacher
Mrs Stefanie Tarantolo Year 4 Teacher / STEM Leader
Mr Corey Rawlings Year 4 Teacher
Mrs Melissa Huntington  Year 4 Teacher (on leave)
Miss Tyla Attard Year 4 Teacher
Mrs Deniece Ibanez Diversity Teacher
Mrs Kerrie-Ann Galea Diversity Teacher
Simone Ninness Diversity Teacher 
Vanessa Lesar  Diversity Teacher 
Natalie Sotiropoulos  Diversity Teacher 


School of Connect & Challenge

Mr Domenic Badolato Teacher - Secondary / Wellbeing Leader Year 5 & 6
Miss Allison Gardiner Teacher - Secondary / Wellbeing Leader Year 7
Mr Dermott Morgan Teacher - Secondary / Wellbeing Leader Year 8
Mrs Stephanie Tucker Teacher - Secondary / Wellbeing Leader Year 9
Mrs Suzan Erenbay Teacher - Secondary / Wellbeing Leader Year 10 & 11
Mr Timothy Adams Teacher - Secondary
Mr Keith Argh Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Virginia Arundell Teacher - Secondary
Mr Twana Awny Teacher - Secondary
Jessica Belcastro Teacher - Secondary
Narelle Boatfield Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Vivienne Boddy Teacher - Secondary
Olivia Borg Teacher - Secondary
Ms Chelsea Brogan Teacher - Secondary
Mr Ronell Catulong Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Maree Concato Teacher - Dance
Mr Michael Faccin Teacher - Secondary
Eliza Ferris Teacher - Secondary
Miss Marian Guerra Teacher - Secondary
Miss Jamie Lee Harb Teacher - Secondary
Mr Matthew Harb Teacher - Secondary
Mr Chris Hersey Teacher - Secondary
Mr Paulo Ibanez Teacher - Secondary
Mr John Jurgutis Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Angeli Kihi Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Karen Knight Teacher
Mr Michael Knight Teacher - Secondary
Miss Isabella Losco Teacher - Secondary
Mr Liam Magann Teacher - Secondary
Robert Mattessi Teacher - Secondary
Miss Toni Matthews Teacher - Secondary
Miss Jamie McEvoy Teacher - Secondary (on leave)
Miss Chloe Nguyen Teacher - Secondary
Mr Thanh Nguyen Teacher
Mrs Sarah Parets Teacher - Secondary
Mr Michael Pastoors Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Hannah Khoury Teacher - Secondary
Mr Phil Rooke Teacher - Secondary
Miss Cristina Rubbo Teacher - Secondary
Mr Christopher Scanlan Teacher - Secondary
Natasha Swan Teacher - Secondary
Mr Louie Tiglao Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Ivy Torres Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Stephanie Tucker Teacher - Secondary
Mr Adam Wagner Teacher - Secondary
Mr Tony Walsh Teacher - Secondary
Mr Warren Ward Teacher - Secondary
Miss Sally-Anne Webster Teacher - Secondary
Mr Joneil Yuzon Teacher - Secondary
Mrs Dianna Grima Diversity Teacher
Mrs Sharon Grima Diversity Teacher
Mrs Lorraine Maher Diversity Teacher


Support Staff

Mr Phillip Smith Compliance Officer
Mrs Aimi Carter Teachers Aide
Mrs Taren Charter Teachers Aide
Ms Sarah Bate Teacher/Librarian
Mrs Hazyl Guerra Library Technician
Ms Sarah Bate Library Technician
Mrs Jodie Cortez School Support Officer
Mrs Debra Kaio School Support Officer
Mrs Kylie Batiste School Support Officer
Mrs Rachael Lyons School Support Officer
Mrs Vanessa Lyons Finance Officer
Mrs Josephine Fowler Enrolments Officer
Miss Gelina Montierro Marketing and Communications Officer
Mrs Stephanie Campanale Partnerships and Pathways Coach
Miss Kimberley Campbell Technical Support Officer
Mr Clarence Mesina Technical Support Officer




Are you a next generation teacher?

We're always looking for innovative educators to help us create the future of learning at Santa Sophia Catholic College

View Vacant Positions